

Policy: Parental and Postpartum Leave	Effective Date: October 21, 2021
Number: 710-3-013	Revised Date: July 1, 2022
Authorized By: Jill Remington Love, Executive Director	
Authority: DHRM R477-7- 3; DHRM R477-7-4; DHRM R477-7-19; DHRM R477-7-20; UCA Code 63A-17-511; Parental Leave - Postpartum Recovery Leave; CCE Sick Leave Assistance Policy 710-3-007	

Purpose:

The **Department of Cultural and Community Engagement (CCE)** is committed to maintaining a work environment that is safe, empowering, and promotes the individual value of each of the Department's employees. **Postpartum and Parental Leave** are for the purpose of recovery from birth and/or bonding with a new child, or the appointment of legal guardianship of a minor child or incapacitated adult. This policy shall run concurrently with Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), as applicable.

Definitions:

Postpartum Leave: Leave hours provided in statute to an eligible employee to recover from childbirth.

Parental Leave: Leave taken by a mother or father to care for or bond with a newborn or adopted child, or for the appointment of legal guardianship of a minor child or incapacitated adult. This includes leave used from their own leave balance and leave taken through the sick leave assistance program after their own leave balances have been exhausted.

Policy:

Postpartum Leave Provided by Utah Law

<u>UCA Code</u> 63A-17-511 provides up to 3 work weeks of postpartum leave to an eligible employee who gives birth to a child. Employees shall refer to DHRM R477-7-20 for eligibility and postpartum leave benefits provided by this law.

Parental Leave Provided by Utah Law

<u>UCA Code</u> 63A-17-511 provides up to 3 work weeks of parental leave to an eligible employee for the employee's:

- a. birth of a child
- b. adoption of a minor child, or;
- c. appointment of legal guardianship of a minor child or incapacitated adult;



Employees shall refer to DHRM R477-7-20 for eligibility and parental leave benefits provided by this law.

Parental Leave Provided by the Agency

This policy provides for additional parental leave beyond what is provided by Utah law for the intent of providing a total of up to 12 work weeks of paid parental leave.

After an employee has used the eligible postpartum and/or parental leave provided by Utah law, the employee may use their own leave balances until they have reached a total of 12 work weeks of paid leave.

If an employee exhausts their own leave balances prior to receiving 12 work weeks of paid postpartum and/or parental leave, the employee may request up to 240 hours from the sick leave bank. Eligibility for sick leave bank hours will cease once the employee has received a maximum of 12 work weeks paid under this policy in any given calendar year or until the employee has exhausted 240 hours from the sick leave bank for the same purpose, whichever is less.

Employees who want to use parental leave hours from the sick leave bank shall refer to the CCE Sick Leave Assistance Policy and follow procedures established in the policy.

Recording Postpartum and Parental Leave on Timesheet

Prior to using any postpartum or parental leave balances, the employee shall contact the CCE HR Office to request that the hours be transferred into their own leave balance. The request should be made 30 days in advance whenever possible. The following codes shall be applied depending on the type of leave used:

- a. PF for postpartum leave taken under Utah Law concurrently with FMLA
- b. P for postpartum leave taken under Utah Law if employee is ineligible for FMLA
- c. PLF for parental leave taken under Utah Law concurrently with FMLA
- d. PL for parental leave taken under Utah Law if employee is ineligible for FMLA
- e. SF for parental leave taken under this policy concurrently with FMLA
- f. S for parental leave taken under this policy if employee is ineligible for FMLA

Family and Medical Leave (FMLA)

An eligible employee may take up to a total of 12 work weeks of FMLA each calendar year for eligible reasons as described in Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) Rules, R477-7-15. Please contact HR for more information.